Special Olympics 2018-12-21T13:38:41+00:00

Special Olympics

Special Olympics is one of the many community projects in which State and sub-ordinate council participation is highly encouraged by the Supreme Council of the Knights of Columbus. Knights and their families all over North America support the efforts of Special Olympians not only by financial donations but by donations of volunteer hours in local, provincial and national events.

The Ontario jurisdiction is proud to be a supporter of the Special Olympians of Ontario. Through our Tootsie Roll Campaigns funds are raise on a provincial level for Special Olympics Ontario, but most important both State and local councils have taken part as volunteers in the Summer and Winter Games and in local events.

For more information contact:

Joe Mathews, State Special Olympics Director

2019 Knights of Columbus Flag Relay for Special Olympics

Area 1

Territory Warden 1 – Cornwall and Ottawa (east of city)

Districts (9) – 2 flags with 1 flag in each District for 2 weeks

Flag 1.
1. District 42 – Ottawa – (Monday January 7th to Sunday January 20th)
Marcel Lachance – marcelnlachance@gmail.com

2. District 54 – Ottawa – (Monday January 21st to Sunday February 3rd)
Andre Cayouette – andre@cayouette.com

3. District 17 – Rockland – (Monday February 4th to Sunday February 17th)
Serge Marcil – worksel77@bell.net

4. District 58 – Casselman – (Monday February 18th to Sunday March 3rd)
Gerald Beriault – jerryb84@hotmail.com

5. District 78 – Hawkesbury – (Monday March 4th to Sunday March 17th)
TBA work

Special Olympics Provincial Winter Games – Sault Ste. Marie Jan. 31st to Feb. 3rd
Special Olympics Provincial Announcement – March 25th

Flag 2.
1. District 81 – Alexandria – (Monday January 7th to Sunday January 20th)
Renald Bombardier – renaldbombardier@hotmail.com

2. District 32 – Cornwall – (Monday January 21st to Sunday February 3rd)

Keith LaFave – klafave1@cogeco.ca
3. District 75 – Cornwall – (Monday February 4th to Sunday February 17th)

Raymond Beauregard – raymondbeauregard@hotmail.com
4. District 85 – Alfred – (Monday February 18th to Sunday March 3rd)
Marcel Gauvin – gauvinjrm@hotmail.com

Special Olympics Provincial Winter Games – Sault Ste. Marie Jan. 31st to Feb. 3rd
Special Olympics Provincial Announcement – March 25th

Area 2

Territory Warden 2 – Ottawa and Pembroke

Districts (10) – 2 flags in each District for 2 weeks

Flag 1.

1. District 30 – Smith Falls – (Monday January 7th to Sunday January 20th)
Daniel Dean – oneildean@hotmail.com

2. District 1 – Ottawa – (Monday January 21st to Sunday February 3rd)
Harold Marcotte – harold@chezmarcotte.ca
3. District 66 – Ottawa – (Monday February 4th to Sunday February 17th)
Michael Goulet – m.goulet@rogers.com

4. District 79 – Ottawa – (Monday February 18th to Sunday March 3rd)
Barry Nicholls – barry.nicholls@bell.net

5. District 92 – Ottawa – (Monday March 4th to Sunday March 17th)
Mike Goral – mike.goral@hotmail.com

Special Olympics Provincial Winter Games – Sault Ste. Marie Jan. 31st to Feb. 3rd
Special Olympics Provincial Announcement – March 25th

Flag 2.
1. District 98 – Ottawa – (Monday January 7th to Sunday January 20th)
John Schembri – schembri@sympatico.ca

2. District 101 – Ottawa – (Monday January 21st to Sunday February 3rd)
Roger Richard – roger-richard@rogers.com

3. District 44 – Renfrew – (Monday February 4th to Sunday February 17th)
Robert Coyne – coynemechanical@rogers.com

4. District 2 – Pembroke – (Monday February 18th to Sunday March 3rd)
Ken McDonald – nde222@bell.net

5. District 59 – Corbeil – (Monday March 4th to Sunday March 17th)

Pierre Montreuil – Pmontreuil78@gmail.com

Special Olympics Provincial Winter Games – Sault Ste. Marie Jan. 31st to Feb. 3rd
Special Olympics Provincial Announcement – March 25th

Area 3

Territory Warden 3 – Kingston and Peterborough

Districts (9) – 2 flags with 1 flag in each District for 2 weeks

Flag 1.
1. District 57 – Prescott – (Monday January 7th to Sunday January 20th)
Stephen Dillabough – sdillabough1@cogeco.ca

2. District 20 – Kingston – (Monday January 21st to Sunday February 3rd)
Peter Scott – skpetescott.857@gmail.compostal

3. District 93 – Kingston – (Monday February 4th to Sunday February 17th)
Wayne Fink – kofc4338342@gmail.com INTERNET

4. District 73 – Belleville – (Monday February 18th to Sunday March 3rd)
Brian Moloney – dddwgirardmoloney@gmail.com

5. District 3 – Trenton – (Monday March 4th to Sunday March 17th)
Paul McComb – paulauction2@yahoo.ca

Special Olympics Provincial Winter Games – Sault Ste. Marie Jan. 31st to Feb. 3rd
Special Olympics Provincial Announcement – March 25th

Flag 2.
1. District 48 – Coburg – (Monday January 7th to Sunday January 20th)
Alphonse Ainsworth – a_ainsworth14@yahoo.ca

2. District 4 – Peterborough – (Monday January 21st to Sunday February 3rd)
Stephen Meinhardt – smeinhardt@pvnccdsb.on.ca

3. District 29 – Peterborough – (Monday February 4th to Sunday February 17th)
Sean Dunlop – sean@dunlopfinancialservice.com

4. District 82 – Lindsay – (Monday February 18th to Sunday March 3rd)
Richard Connolly – richard.connolly@bell.ca

Special Olympics Provincial Winter Games – Sault Ste. Marie Jan. 31st to Feb. 3rd
Special Olympics Provincial Announcement – March 25th

Area 4

Territory Warden 4 – Thunder Bay

Districts (5) – 1 flag in each District for 2 weeks

Flag 1.
1. District 15 – Kenora – (Monday January 7th to Sunday January 20th)
Robert Durante – danillo1952@hotmail.ca

2. District 37 – Fort Francis – (Monday January 21st to Sunday February 3rd)

Nathan Cousineau – cousineau017@gmail.com

3. District 14 – Thunder Bay – (Monday February 4th to Sunday February 17th)

Michael Meady – mike.meady@yahoo.ca

4. District 112 – Thunder Bay – (Monday February 18th to Sunday March 3rd)

Mario Santino Filane Figliomeni – marbar19@hotmail.com

5. District 45 – Marathon – (Monday March 4th to Sunday March 17th)
Kevin Nelson – nelson.kevin13@gmail.com

Special Olympics Provincial Winter Games – Sault Ste. Marie Jan. 31st to Feb. 3rd
Special Olympics Provincial Announcement – March 25th

Area 5

Territory Warden 5 – Timmins

Districts (6) – 1 flag in each District for 2 weeks

Flag 1.
1. District 46 – Hearst – (Monday January 7th to Sunday January 20th)
Yvon Nolet – yvon.nolet@hotmail.com

2. District 12 – Kapuskasing – (Monday January 21st to Sunday February 3rd)
Andre Nolet – giant@ntl.sympatico.ca

3. District 18 – Timmins – (Monday February 4th to Sunday February 17th)
Marc Daoust – marc.daoust@hotmail.ca

4. District 52 – Timmins – (Monday February 18th to Sunday March 3rd)
Kevin Columbus – kevincolumbus20@gmail.com

5. District 71 – New Liskerd – (Monday March 4th to Sunday March 17th)
Michel Watchorn – watchorn.linda@outlook.com

6. District 11 – Kirkland Lake – (Monday March 18th to Sunday March 31st)
TBA

Special Olympics Provincial Winter Games – Sault Ste. Marie Jan. 31st to Feb. 3rd
Special Olympics Provincial Announcement – March 25th

Area 6

Warden 6 – North Bay, Sudbury and Sault Ste. Marie
Districts (8) – 2 flags with 1 flag in each District for 2 weeks

Flag 1.
1. District 38 – Sault Ste. Marie – (Monday January 7th to Sunday January 20th)
Robert (Bob) Turco – gmjayco@hotmail.com

2. District 34 – Elliot Lake – (Monday January 21st to Sunday February 3rd)
Louis G Murphy – louismurphy.kofc@gmail.com

3. District 74 – Val Caron – (Monday February 4th to Sunday February 17th)

Joffre Patry – joffrepatry@hotmail.com

4. District 80 – Val Caron – (Monday February 18th to Sunday March 3rd)

TBA

Flag 2.
1. District 13 – Sudbury – (Monday January 7th to Sunday January 20th)

Dennis Tomini – countd@hotmail.ca
2. District 41 – Sudbury – (Monday January 21st to Sunday February 3rd)

Gaetan Labelle – gaetan@fibreop.ca
3. District 47 – Sturgeon Falls – (Monday February 4th to Sunday February 17th)

Jacques Fournier – jjfournier4848@gmail.comINTERNET
4. District 25 – North Bay – (Monday February 18th to Sunday March 3rd)

Dennis Mailloux – dennisfm@hotmail.com

Special Olympics Provincial Winter Games – Sault Ste. Marie Jan. 31st to Feb. 3rd
Special Olympics Provincial Announcement – March 25th

Area 7

District Warden 7 – Hamilton South and St. Catharines

Districts (11) – 2 flags with 1 flag in each District for 2 weeks

Flag 1.
1. District 7 – Cambridge – (Monday January 7th to Sunday January 20th)
Danpostal Schmalz – schmenge@rogers.com

2. District 8 – Hamilton – (Monday January 21st to Sunday February 3rd)
Alex Biro – abiro3@cogeco.ca

3. District 67 – Burlington – (Monday February 4th to Sunday February 17th)
Wayne Kendall – DD67Oakville@gmail.com

4. District 62 – Burlington – (Monday February 18th to Sunday March 3rd)
Vic Lefebvre – lefebvrevj@outlook.com

5. District 60 – Hamilton – (March 4th to Sunday March 17th)
Robert Ricci – riccir@hhsc.ca

6. District 100 – Hamilton – (Monday March 18th to Sunday March 31st)
Gabriel Riverso – griverso@rmxemail.com

Special Olympics Provincial Winter Games – Sault Ste. Marie Jan. 31st to Feb. 3rd
Special Olympics Provincial Announcement – March 25th

Flag 2.
1. District 83 – Ancaster – (Monday January 7th to Sunday January 20th)
Dan Lohin – danlohin@hotmail.com

2. District 6 – Grimsby – (Monday January 21st to Sunday February 3rd)
Mario Durand – supmariod@gmail.com

3. District 113 – St. Catharines – (Monday February 4th to Sunday February 17th)
Ron Green – captron10bty@sympatico.ca

4. District 26 – Welland – (Monday February 18th to Sunday March 3rd)
George Badawey – georgebadawey@gmail.com

5. District 64 – Niagara Falls – (Monday March 4th to Sunday March 17th)
Martin Marko – ftw@talkwireless.ca

Special Olympics Provincial Winter Games – Sault Ste. Marie Jan. 31st to Feb. 3rd
Special Olympics Provincial Announcement – March 25th

Area 8

Territory Warden 8 – Hamilton North and South

Districts (9) – 2 flags with 1 flag in each District for 2 weeks

Flag 1.
1. District 109 – Hamilton – (Monday January 7th to Sunday January 20th)
Herb Dixon –  workherbdixon49@yahoo.ca
2. District 117 – Brantford – (Monday January 21st to Sunday February 3rd)
William (Bill) R Kane – william.r.kane@gmail.com

3. District 35 – Kitchener – (Monday February 4th to Sunday February 17th)
Ted Jasica – Tjasica7@gmail.com

4. District 118 – Waterloo – (Monday February 18th to Sunday March 3rd)
Tim Runstedler – tma_runstedler@hotmail.com

Special Olympics Provincial Winter Games – Sault Ste. Marie Jan. 31st to Feb. 3rd
Special Olympics Provincial Announcement – March 25th

Flag 2.
1. District 105 – Milton – (Monday January 7th to Sunday January 20th)
Michael Simpson – Michael.simpson@cogeco.ca
2. District 69 – Guelph – (Monday January 21st to Sunday February 3rd)
TBA

3. District 116 – Fergus – (Monday February 4th to Sunday February 17th)
Kevin Smith – smoyd@sympatico.ca
4. District 28 – Walkerton – (Monday February 18th to Sunday March 3rd)
postalSteve Cuneo – steve@cuneointeriors.com
5. District 55 – Owen Sound – (Monday March 4th to Sunday March 17th)
Wayne Caskanette – wcaskanette@outlook.com

Special Olympics Provincial Winter Games – Sault Ste. Marie Jan. 31st to Feb. 3rd
Special Olympics Provincial Announcement – March 25th

Area 9

Territory Warden 9 – London

Districts (10) – 2 flags with 1 flag in each District for 2 weeks

Flag 1.
1. District 72 – Goderich – (Monday January 7th to Sunday January 20th)
postalDev.Bhagwat – Dev.Bhagwat@KOFC.ORG

2. District 61 – Sarnia – (Monday January 21st to Sunday February 3rd)
John E. Ramsey – jepr@cogeco.ca

3. District 40 – Wallaceburg – (Monday February 4th to Sunday February 17th)
Michael Hendrycks – mshranch@aol.com

4. District 68 – Strathroy – (Monday February 18th to Sunday March 3rd)
Stephen Cochrane – stephencochrane@rogers.com

5. District 9 – London – (Monday March 4th to Sunday March 17th)
Kevin Belanger – kevinbelanger@rogers.com

Flag 2.
1. District 49 – London – (Monday January 7th to Sunday January 20th)
Don Highley – djhighley@rogers.com
2. District 104 – London – (Monday January 21st to Sunday February 3rd)
Philip East – peast@rogers.com

3. District 22 – Woodstock – (Monday February 4th to Sunday February 17th)
Doug Shwaluk – shwde@bell.net

4. District 84 – Simcoe – (Monday February 18th to Sunday March 3rd)
Richard Hobbins – rickandhelenhobbins@gmail.com

5. District 31 – Listowel – (Monday March 4th to Sunday March 17th)
Dev.Bhagwat – Dev.Bhagwat@KOFC.ORG

Special Olympics Provincial Winter Games – Sault Ste. Marie Jan. 31st to Feb. 3rd
Special Olympics Provincial Announcement – March 25th

Area 10

Territory Warden 10 – Windsor and Chatham

Districts (9) – 2 flags with 1 flag in each District for 2 weeks

Flag 1.
1. District 115 – Windsor – (Monday January 7th to Sunday January 20th)
BJ (William) Harrison – bjharrison3305@hotmail.com

2. District 39 – Windsor – (Monday January 21st to Sunday February 3rd)
Jesmond Tabone – jtabone@outlook.com

3. District 10 – Windsor – (Monday February 4th to Sunday February 17th)
TBA

4. District 88 – Essex – (Monday February 18th to Sunday March 3rd)
Kevin Klink – krnl1500@outlook.com INTERNET
5. District 21 – Leamington – (Monday March 4th to Sunday March 17th)
Daniel Orawskikofcdan@gmail.com

Flag 2.
1. District 76 – Windsor – (Monday January 7th to Sunday January 20th)
Alan Sims – alan639barb@aol.com
2. District 23 – Belle River – (Monday January 21st to Sunday February 3rd)
Dave Monk – monkdd23@gmail.com

3. District 16 – Chatham – (Monday February 4th to Sunday February 17th)
Michael Murphy – murphymf6@gmail.com

4. District 51 – Thamesville – (Monday February 18th to Sunday March 3rd)
Rene Martens – Renecmartens@live.ca

Special Olympics Provincial Winter Games – Sault Ste. Marie Jan. 31st to Feb. 3rd
Special Olympics Provincial Announcement – March 25th

Area 11

Territory Warden 11 – GTA: Muskoka/Simcoe/York Region/North Peel Region, Brampton

Districts (10) – 2 flags with 1 flag in each District for 2 weeks

Flag 1.

1. District 56 – Huntsville – (Monday January 7th to Sunday January 20th)
Ted Majkot – Ted.Majkot@gmail.com

2. District 19 – Midland – (Monday January 21st to Sunday February 3rd)
Garnet Smith – ggsmith321@gmail.com

3. District 86 – Barrie – (Monday February 4th to Sunday February 17th)
Thomas Hargreaves – thomashargreaves@yahoo.ca

4. District 33 – Newmarket – (Monday February 18th to Sunday March 3rd)
Robert Ben – robert.ben@investorsgroup.com

5. District 50 – King City – (Monday March 4th to Sunday March 17th)
Luigi (Gino) Grieco – ginoandrosanna@rogers.com

Flag 2.
1. District 110 – Maple – (Monday January 7th to Sunday January 20th)
Yousif Bahoshy – jbahoshy@gmail.com

2. District 63 – Unionville – (Monday January 21st to Sunday February 3rd)
Barclay (Barry) Koen-Butt – barrykoen-butt@rogers.com

3. District 96 – Woodbridge – (Monday February 4th to Sunday February 17th)
Lidio Soldera – lidiosoldera@gmail.com

4. District 103 – Brampton – (Monday February 18th to Sunday March 3rd)
postal Gordon Newman – gordon@newmanlearning.com

5. District 114 – Mississauga – (Monday March 4th to Sunday March 17th)
David Peters – davidpeters123@rogers.com

Special Olympics Provincial Winter Games – Sault Ste. Marie Jan. 31st to Feb. 3rd
Special Olympics Provincial Announcement – March 25th

Area 12

Territory Warden 12 – GTA: Burlington/Milton/Oakville/ Mississauga/Brampton/West Toronto
Districts (11) – 2 flags with 1 flag in each District for 2 weeks

Flag 1.
1. District 99 – Newmarket – (Monday January 7th to Sunday January 20th)
Timothy Gant – tim.gant@hydroone.com

2. District 111 – Toronto East – Scarborough – (Monday January 21st to Sunday February 3rd)
Alex Saroca – lexlorn76@yahoo.ca

3. District 24 – Etobicoke – (Monday February 4th to Sunday February 17th)
David Bain – djbain@rogers.com

4. District 27 – Etobicoke – (Monday February 18th to Sunday March 3rd)
Walter Martyniw – Wmartyniw@bell.net

5. District 106 – Etobicoke – (Monday March 4th to Sunday March 17th)
Patrick Briggs – patrickbriggs@bell.net

6. District 53 – Mississauga – east – (Monday March 18th to Sunday March 31st)
Gary MacDonald – garymac@look.ca

Flag 2.
1. District 91 – Mississauga – central – (Monday January 7th to Sunday January 20th)
Arturo Policarpio – artpolsr@gmail.com

2. District 89 – Mississauga – west – (Monday January 21st to Sunday February 3rd)
Tolentine Fialho – Tolentine.fialho@yahoo.com

3. District 102 – Mississauga – north – (Monday February 4th to Sunday February 17th)
Joseph Remedios – joseph.remedios@me.com

4. District 43 – Brampton – (Monday February 18th to Sunday March 3rd)
Jerry Monaco – jerrygmonaco@gmail.com

5. District 94 – Toronto Central – Concord – (Monday March 4th to Sunday March 17th)
TBA

Special Olympics Provincial Winter Games – Sault Ste. Marie Jan. 31st to Feb. 3rd
Special Olympics Provincial Announcement – March 25th

Area 13

Territory Warden 13 – GTA: Durham Region/South Clarington/ Thornhill/East Toronto

Districts (11) – 2 flags with 1 flag in each District for 2 weeks

Flag 1.
1. District 70 – Uxbridge – (Monday January 7th to Sunday January 20th)
David Robertson – fornzx321@hotmail.com

2. District 36 – Oshawa – (Monday January 21st to Sunday February 3rd)
Jim Kay – jkayone_2@sympatico.ca

3. District 90 – Pickering – (Monday February 4th to Sunday February 17th)
Agnel Soans – soansab@rogers.com

4. District 87 – Scarborough – (Monday February 18th to Sunday March 3rd)
Gino DiPede – gdipede@rogers.com

5. District 95 – Toronto Central – Scarborough – (Monday March 4th to Sunday March 17th)
Tony Tobias – atobias@sympatico.ca

6. District 97 – Toronto – (Monday March 18th to Sunday March 31st)
David Baker – skdavidbaker@gmail.com

Flag 2.
1. District 107 – Toronto East – Scarborough – (Monday January 7th to Sunday January 20th)
Joseph Mathurin – jmathurin5049@rogers.com

2. District 5 – Toronto Central – East York – (Monday January 21st to Sunday February 3rd)
Henry Miller – hmiller@look.ca

3. District 65 – Toronto North/East – (Monday February 4th to Sunday February 17th)
Kingsley Leon – kingsley.leon@outlook.com

4. District 77 – Toronto East – Thornhill – (Monday February 18th to Sunday March 3rd)
Noel Perovic – nado@rogers.com

5. District 108 – Markham – (Monday March 4th to Sunday March 17th)
Joe Chan – chancccjoe@yahoo.ca

Special Olympics Provincial Winter Games – Sault Ste. Marie Jan. 31st to Feb. 3rd
Special Olympics Provincial Announcement – March 25th

Planning Your Flag Relay

Planning your Flag Relay Activities:

Mark the date the flag is in your area.

Contact the Councils, Assemblies and Circles to invite them to participate and sign the flag.

Connect with local Special Olympics and invite them to participate and sign the flag.

Plan your activities and take lots of pictures.

Arrange photo-ops, and again take lots of pictures.

Please send in the pictures you have taken to KOCFlagRelay@specialolympicsontario.com
which will posted on social media for everyone to see.

Some of the activities that have be done during previous Flag Relay:

Flag Raising Ceremonies (e.g. City Hall, Police Stations, Schools, etc.)

School Events

Bottle Drives

Special Olympics Events

Lottery/Ticket Selling Events

Cheque Presentations

Photo-ops

Just to name a few…

Find out what your local knights are doing.

DISCOVER NOW